Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

April 14, 2021

Fellowship Forum: Critical Thought & Contemplative Wisdom for Our Times with Dr. Michael Eric Dyson

For this Fellowship Forum, we invite Dr. Michael Eric Dyson to join us for a session on critical social thought, prophetic witness, contemplative wisdom and his latest book, Long Time Coming: Reckoning with Race in America.

The Garrison Institute Fellowship Forum is a series of conversations with extraordinary leaders with expertise and experience in awareness-based contemplative wisdom, the science of interconnection, generative action, and collective healing. Each conversation will be co-facilitated by the Garrison Institute Fellows and Fellowship Director Dr. Angel Acosta.

Audience members will have a front seat to a compelling discussion and have the opportunity to engage in the dialogue by asking direct questions and participating in small group breakout sessions. These gatherings will be a rich and inspiring opportunity to hear updates on the GI Fellowship, while also joining a community of people who are interested in exploring the aforementioned topics.

This forum will be a live meeting, which will be conducted on Zoom at 6:00 p.m. ET on Wednesday, April 14th. Dr. Dyson will join us for the first hour of this engagement. The last half hour will be an opportunity for participants to engage in breakout discussions. The meeting link will be emailed to participants within twenty-four hours of your registration. 
Please email us at: events@garrisoninstitute.org with questions.

Teachers: 

Dr. Michael Eric Dyson is one of the nation’s most renowned professors, gifted writers, inspiring preachers, knowledgeable lecturers and riveting media personalities. As a professor who earned a PhD in Religion from Princeton University, Dyson has taught at some of the nation’s most distinguished universities, including Brown, UNC Chapel Hill, Columbia, DePaul, the University of Pennsylvania, and Georgetown University.  

As a writer of more than 20 books, New York Times bestsellers The Black Presidency: Barack Obama and the Politics of Race in America; and, Tears We Cannot Stop: A Sermon to White America, that was called by the New York Times,” one of the most frank and searing discussions on race…a deeply serious, urgent book, which should take its place in the tradition of Baldwin’s The Fire Next Time and King’s Why We Can’t Wait.” His latest book, “Long Time Coming: Reckoning with Race in America” published December 1,was heralded as Amazon’s Bestselling Book for 2020. 

Dyson has lectured across the country, and around the world, in many of the best colleges and universities, and in public theaters and auditoriums, and for many corporations and unions. He has also served for the last 30 years as a media commentator and host, on every major radio and television show, from NPR’s Morning Edition, The Takeaway, and Fresh Air with Terry Gross, to television’s Meet the Press, Face the Nation, Today Show, Good Morning America, and Real Time with Bill Maher, and as a political analyst on MSNBC, CNN and Fox News. While feminist author Naomi Wolf calls Dyson “the ideal public intellectual of our times,” writer Nathan McCall captures it best when he says that Dyson “is a street fighter in suit and tie.” 
 
 
For the last decade, Dr. Angel Acosta has worked to bridge the fields of leadership, social justice, and mindfulness. He holds a doctorate degree in curriculum and teaching at Teachers College, Columbia University. Acosta has supported more than educational leaders and their students by facilitating leadership trainings, creating pathways to higher education, and designing dynamic learning experiences. His dissertation explored healing-centered education as a promising framework for educational leadership development. After participating in the Mind and Life Institute’s Academy for Contemplative Leadership, Acosta began consulting and developing learning experiences that weave leadership development with conversations about inequality and healing, to support educational leaders through contemplative and restorative practices. As a former trustee for the Center for Contemplative Mind in Society, he participated as a speaker and discussant at the Asia Pacific Forum on Holistic Education in Kyoto, Japan. He continues to consult for organizations like the NYC Department of Education, UNICEF, Columbia University and others. Over the last couple of years, he has designed the Contemplating 400 Years of Inequality Experience–a contemplative journey to understand structural inequality. He’s a proud member of the 400 Years of Inequality Project, based at the New School. 

Please join us for the next Forum with Dr. Bayo Akomolafe on Sunday May 16 at 10:00 a.m. ET. To register, and for more information please click here. 

Your support matters. Our vision for a more just, compassionate world has never felt more urgent. While we cannot share physical space together, we remain committed to a shared practice of social and spiritual care. We are thankful for the support to create a virtual sanctuary during this time. Your donations help to the expand the Fellowship’s program offerings. If you feel called to support our work, we welcome your tax-deductible contribution towards our efforts. Please consider making a donation below. 

 

Registration Options

1 - Supporter (Donation)
2 - Participant
25.00